Sunday, September 23, 2012

Fredrickson and Goede battle for Thunderstruck

By Jason D Searcy

The fourth annual Thunderstruck 93 ASA Midwest tour race at Elko Speedway had a wild finish with #36 Danny Fredrickson finishing just ahead of Jacob Goede for his third consecutive Thunderstruck win.

#72 Goede started the race in the second row, he shot to the lead on lap four and held back numerous challenges for the top spot from Jonathan Eilen and Nick Murgic choosing the top lane on restarts.  Then with about 30 laps to go Fredrickson finally made his way up to second place after starting in the fifth row.  Fredrickson and Goede had an epic battle, side by side and inches apart until the end of the race.  Goede was flying high on the top side and Fredrickson just couldn't quite squeeze by on the bottom until the last lap.

The two made contact in the final corner with Fredrickson taking the win and Goede trying to stay off the wall and holding on for second place.  The crowd got loud and some tempers flared immediately after the race with both cars stopped on the track but to my knowledge no punches were thrown.  

Goede was the inaugural Thunderstruck winner back in 2009 and was disappointed not to win a second guitar, "I did everything I could, I gave him the bottom lane, but obviously he didn't want that one, he wanted mine," said Goede "I really wanted that one, but I guess second is what we got."

Dan Fredrickson has made no secret that this is a very special race to him considering his strong relationship with Dan Ryan who lost his life to ALS and who is memorialized in this annual race.

Lost in the shuffle was Jonathan Eilen (above) who finished a strong third and increased his lead in the ASA Midwest tour point standings with Chris Wimmer finishing last because of mechanical problems and drops back to thrid in points.  Nathan Haseleu is now Eilens closest competition, 22 points behind with only one more race on the 2012 schedule and that is at Oktoberfest in La Crosse WI on Sunday October 7th.

1-Dan Fredrickson
2-Jacob Goede
3-Jonathan Eilen
4-Skyler Holzhausen
5-Nathan Haseleu
6-Nick Murgic
7-Donny Reuvers
8-Adam Royle

other notables
12-Brian Roach
15-Molly Rhoads
22-Chris Wimmer

Get Full Results at

Hear commentary and full interviews with the top 3 finishers on Speedtalk on 1360 Radio Saturday 10-11am on KRWC and


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.