Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Jeremy Johnson memorial award

The Jeremy Johnson Memorial Sportsmanship award is given annually at Elko Speedway. Jeremy was a crew member at I-94 Raceway in Sauk Centre MN, he was known as "The Tire Guy" he helped numerous drivers in the pits not just one crew, he was known for his good attitude. He was killed by a drunk driver in 2003, a memorial race was held at I-94 Raceway for many years and later a Sportsmanship award was put together in his name. The inagural winner of this award in 2011 was Mark Bronstad a figure 8 driver at Raceway Park (MN).
Mark is pictured here with the parents of Jeremy Johnson. Other winners of this award are: Molly Rhoads, Richard Timm, Adam Brachle, Joe Valento, Faith Olson, Natalie Swedin-Bartyzal, Taylor Goldman, Ellen Wolff. We all miss Jeremy and it is a reminder that driving drunk could have long lasting consenquences