Saturday, March 16, 2024

2023 Elko Speedway Awards banquet

 The racers organized an awards banquet celebrating the 2023 race season, the 58th year of racing at Elko Speedway.  It took place at Turtles bar and grill in Shakopee (MN) on Feb 17th, 2024 with 11 year veteran track announcer Jason Searcy as the MC, Jess and Ryan Rose hosted the party.

The big news of the evening came from Jacob Goede #72 Late Model, he announced that he will not be racing full-time in 2024.  He has been the premier division Champion at Elko Speedway for 10 consecutive years.  Here is the video of his speech.

Dillon Sellner #07 was a first-time Champion in the Thunder Cars division, he announced that his race team will be moving up to the Late Model division in 2024.  Here is his speech.

Julie Jorgenson #83 won her first Power Stock Championship at Elko Speedway, she also won the Women in Motorsports North America Championship.  Here is her speech where she announced she will be racing full-time in the Thunder Car division in 2024 at Elko Speedway.

Colin Stocker #8 won his second Legends division Championship, his speech was short and sweet but it was heard that his race team is also moving up to the Late Model division next year.

Jackson Kottschade #07 was a first-time Bandolero Champion at Elko Speedway.  Here is his speech.

An award was given out to former Power Stock Champion and current Thunder Car driver Taylor Goldman.  Here is the presentation of the Inspiration award.

The 2024 Race season begins at Elko Speedway Saturday night of Memorial weekend.  Get more information at