Saturday, December 13, 2014

Speed Talk 2014 Season Wrap

2014 Marked the 6th season of covering Motorsports on KRWC for Jason and Dean.  We reported on many great races in the Upper Midwest from Iowa Speedway to Elko Speedway and Brainerd International Raceway.  We also broadcast live from lots of interesting venues including the Gear Head Get Together in Maple Lake, the Classics by the Lake Car show in Buffalo and the Mud Spectacular at the Wright County Fair.  We were able to interview 67 different drivers this year, we love to hear the emotion in their voice from telling their story in their own words.

It would not be possible to do this show without these sponsors, please support them in the same way they support local racing.

Performance Driving School at BIR
Norm's Wayside in Buffalo
Stockholm Karting Center
Highway 55 Trailer Sales in Buffalo
Lou Fegers Racing Equipment
STB Screen Printing and Embroidery
Radio Active Mobile Electronics Buffalo

Here are the TOP 10 most popular stories on this year:

#1 Dan Fredrickson wins his 4th Thunderstruck93 race at Elko Speedway

#2 Ricky Martin named 2013 MN Asphalt driver of the year in Raceway Parks final season

#3 Local female racers selected for the NASCAR Drive for Diversity program

#4 Sam Hornish wins Spring race at Iowa Speedway

#5 Power Stock division championship race is one for the record books as Oxborough and Brown tie in points.

#6 Minnesota NASCAR team owner Nate Thiesse continues to have success

#7 Doug Peterson wins Trans-Am race again at Brainerd International Raceway, car count continues to rise

#8 Seventeen year old Erik Jones dominates Iowa Speedway truck series race

#9 Grant Enfinger wins ARCA race at Elko Speedway

#10 Ryan Hunter-Reay stuns Tony Kanaan with late pit stop and on fresh tires wins at Iowa Speedway

Here is a recap of the 2014 season Champions banquet at Elko Speedway.  Jason at Elko (photo below)

We were able to Pod-cast many of the interviews done on Speed Talk radio.  Here are links to the Top 10 interviews done in 2014.

#1 Nate Thiesse talks ARCA and Trucks

#2 Dan Fredrickson-Thunderstruck winner

#3 Brooke Tatnell wins Sprint Car race at Princeton

#4 Tommy Kendall- Trans-Am 2 racer at BIR (photo below)

#5 Iowa Speedway President Jimmy Small

#6 Amy Ruman- Trans-Am racer

#7 Local racing segment with Dan Plan, Jacob Goede and Paul Hamilton

#8 Dirt Track announcer Ron Krog on Speed Talk

#9 Elko racer Joey Prusak in studio at KRWC

#10 Chris Hawkey from KFAN Motorsports

Also, a big Thank You to our two weekly guests: Jordan Bianchi from for his awesome NASCAR coverage and Dan Plan from for his local racing knowledge.

Here is the full list of people interviewed in Speed Talk in 2014:
Brady Fox-Rhode (Legends)
Bryan Syer-Keske (SLM)
Jonathan Eilen (ARCA MwTour)
Ty Majeski (ARCA MwTour 2014 Champion)
Matt Panure (TUNDRA Announcer)
Dan Fredrickson (SLM)
Doug Brown (Big 8)
Matt Crafton (Trucks)
Joey Coulter (Trucks)
Ryan Blaney (Trucks)
Doug Peterson (Trans-Am)
Ron Keith (TA 2)
Tommy Kendall (TA 2)
Robby Carter (Legends)
Tom Doten (Power Stocks)
Amy Ruman (Trans-Am)
Buzzy Cripe (race official)
Brent Kane (Thunder Cars)
Scott Chantland (Gear Head Get-Together)
Shon Jacobsen (Legends)
Michael Ostdiek (Big 8)
Shaun Prins (Power Stocks)
Matt Goede (SLM)
Taylor Goldman (Power Stock)
Doug Brown (Big 8)
Nick Oxborough (Power Stock)
Michael Weiss (Mini-Stock)
Jeremy Wolff (Thunder Cars)
Joey Miller (SLM)
Joe Neisius (BIG 8)
Paul Neisius (Power Stocks)
Chad Walen (SLM)
Conrad Jorgenson (Thunder Car)
Juan Pablo Montoya (Indy Car)
Helio Castroneves (Indy Car)
Jacob Goede (SLM)
Paul Hamilton (Power Stocks)
Chris Hawkey (KFAN Motorsports)
Mason Mitchell (ARCA 2014 Champion)
Grant Enfinger (ARCA)
J J Haley (ARCA)
Tom Hessert (ARCA)
Frank Kimmel (ARCA)
Tim Brockhouse (Legends)
Steve Anderson (SLM)
Nick Beaver (Big 8)
Brooke Tatnell (Sprint Cars)
Doug Selle (Best Buy racing)
Chris Marek (Big 8)
Derek Lemke (SLM)
Brandon Petersen (Power Stocks)
Brian Adams (Mini-stock)
Mark Lamoreaux (SLM)
Trevor Bayne (Nationwide)
Landon Cassill (Nationwide)
Nick Murgic (SLM)
Ron Krog (Announcer)
Jimmy Small (Iowa Speedway president)
Nate Theisse (Win-Tron racing co-owner)
Joey Prusak (Big 8)
Ashley Bell (Mini Stock)
Justin Schelitzche (Mini Stock)
Tim Olson (ARCA Midwest tour president)
Thank you race fans for listening to our show, we plan on being back on the air in April 2015!