Thursday, January 2, 2020

2019 MN Asphalt Driver of the Year

By Jason D Searcy

Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) has been named the 2019 Minnesota Asphalt driver of the year by Speed Talk on 1360 Radio.

Goede had a record breaking year and was recently recognized nationally as the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I Champion at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte (NC). “The banquet was a good time, NASCAR does a good job honoring the Champions and it was really special to have my car (on display) at the Hall of Fame,” said Goede.

The 3G race team was awarded a beautiful Championship Trophy to Erica Goede as car owner and another trophy for Jacob as the driver, he also received a custom painted helmet as the Mobil 1 National driver of the year.

The 2019 statistics for Jacob Goede speak for themselves. In 37 NASCAR sanctioned starts he finished in the top 10 in every race, not one DNF. In 30 of those races he finished in the Top 5 and he won a total of 10 races across his hometrack at Elko (MN) Speedway but also Lacrosse (WI) Fairgrounds Speedway and Madison (WI) International Speedway.

Due to the inversion rules up here Jacob didn’t just start up front in these races, he had to fight his way to the front. Maybe the most incredible stat is that Jacob gained 218 positions from where he started the race to where he finished in those 37 events, so he averaged passing nearly 6 cars per feature race while competing against some of the strongest fields of cars in the Nation.

Jacob also excelled at all the big Marquee Races of 2019, he won the prestigious Dwain Behrens memorial event and the Thunderstruck93 Big 8 series race at Elko Speedway and also the Big 8 series race during Oktoberfest in Lacrosse.

This is the third time Jacob Goede has won the Minnesota Asphalt Driver of the year award, he also won back to back in 2014 and 2015.

Winners of the MN Asphalt Driver of the year:

2019- Jacob Goede
2018- Baiden Heskett
2017- Conrad Jorgenson
2016- Tim Brockhouse
2015- Jacob Goede
2014- Jacob Goede
2013- Ricky Martin
2012- Jonathan Eilen
2011- Chad Walen
2010- Brent Kane
2009- Adam Royle
2004- Dan Fredrickson