Saturday, November 19, 2022

ELKO 2022 Interviews

 By Jason D Searcy

We did not have a radio show in 2022 but Speed Talk on 1360 continued with interviews from Elko Speedway (MN) drivers.  Here is the list with photos and links.

Now 9 time ELKO Champion #72 Jacob Goede he is now tied with Donny Reuvers and just 1 behind Jeff Martin for the most Premier Divison Championships in track history.  Click Here for interview

Now 6 time ELKO Thunder Car Champion #3 Conrad Jorgenson, he has won a Championship in the 90's, 2000's, 2010's and now the 2020's.  This is a fun interview where he reveals his 2023 plans Conrad Jorgenson interview

Former Thunder Car Champion and crowd favorite #32 Jeremy Wolff got his first Late Model win in a long time, here is his interview Click here for Wolff interview

Legendary Late Model driver #52 Chad Walen finished 2nd in the points in 2022, Here is his interview where he talks racing and his other love, restoring classic cars.

Chad Walen interview link

We also started a new series called "6 questions" where we interview top drivers and ask them some racing questions and other questions that have nothing to do with racing.  The answers proved to be very interesting!

Two time Thunder Car Champion and Rookie Late Model driver #37 Bryce Blohm Click HERE for the Blohm interview 

7 time Elko Speedway Power Stock winner in 2022 #08 Mike Stoer did a very entertaining interview and Photo! 


Click Here for Stoer interview

Former ELKO Legends division Champion #13 Tim Brockhouse is an interesting Character and he was in a great mood when doing this 6 questions interview 

Brockhouse Interview link

Long time Power Stock driver #66 Joe Prusak announced his retirement after the 2022 season and after over 200 wins in his career.

Joe Prusak Interview link

Former Power Stock Champion, current Thunder Car driver and crowd favorite Taylor Goldman known as "Roller Girl" did a great 6 questions interview.

Taylor Goldman interview link

We also interviewed ELKO superfan Konnor Koski

Konnor interview link

Jacob Goede also did a very well recieved "6 questions" interview

Jacob Goede Interview

We also posted many Jason Searcy race calls from numerous races at Elko Speedway in 2022.  Click on this link to listen to some of the race calls.  Audio of 2022 ELKO Race Calls

Jimmie Jorgenson 1st win

Mike Stoer 5th win of 2022

Tristan Swanson win

Jesse Fischer 6th win

Mark Anderson Jr win

Jacob Goede 7th Behrens memorial race win

Jacob Goede interview after the Behrens memorial win

Mark Anderson Jr vs Danny Mann race call

Tom Doten 2nd win of 2022

Jeremy Wolff 1st ELKO LM win race call

Tyler Ledbetter 1st win race call

Matt Wiebusch win race call

Danny Mann 6th win of 2022

Jesse Fischer vs Nick Oxborough great race

Baiden Heskett 3rd win of 2022

Mark Anderson Jr Bando win

Danny Mann 5th win of 2022

Owin Giles 3rd win of 2022

Julie Jorgenson first win of 2022

Colin Stocker clean sweep

Hunter Paine 1st LM win

Dillon Sellner clean sweep

Danny Mann 4th win

Ayrton Brockhouse 1st Legends win

Leighton Rose 2nd Bando win

Tim Brockhouse win #241

Tom Doten Power Stock win

Brent Kane 2nd win of 2022

Matt Frye win

Jake Ryan win race call

Jon Lemke 2nd win of 2022

Dusty Mann 1st Late Model win

Here are some photos from an exciting 2022 season that included Sammy Smith #18 winning the ARCA event, 4 years earlier he won 4 races at ELKO in a Legends Car.  A first career Late Model win for #10 Dusty Mann, numerous wins from 12 year old Ayrton Brockhouse in the Legends division, #7 Jacob Tiegen winning a national title in the INEX division and #36 Ty Fredrickson racing at ELKO for the first time.  Elko hosted its first annual Monster Truck Mania event and 7K racing won the Jeremy Johnson memorial "Tire Guy" Sportsmanship award.

Friday, January 14, 2022

2021 MN asphalt driver of the year


By Jason D Searcy

Jacob Goede from Carver (MN) has been named the 2021 Minnesota asphalt driver of the year by Speed Talk on 1360 Radio, this is the fourth time Goede has won this award.

Jacob Goede #72 is a Late Model and Super Late Model driver who added to his long list of racing accomplishments in 2021.  Most notably he won his 8th consecutive premier division Championship at Elko (MN) Speedway in the Late Model division.  He scored four wins, seventeen Top 5 finishes and showed amazing consistency by never finishing out of the Top 10 in any of the 24 feature events at ELKO.  He also had success traveling to Wisconsin where he raced at Madison International Speedway and LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway where he won four features including the Big 8 series win during Oktoberfest.  Goede also had a nice showing at New Smyrna (FL) Speedway during the World Series of Asphalt, scoring four Top 5 finishes against the best national competition.  Goede was the 2021 NASCAR Advance Auto Parts weekly series Midwest division Champion and finishes second in National points, a series in which he was the National Champion in 2019.

Thanks to Speed Talk on 1360 radio and Midwest Racing Connection for the recognition and the 2021 MN asphalt driver of the year.  Minnesota does have a lot of talent on asphalt, even though we are a small crowd compared to other parts of the country, so I appreciate this award.  We had a great season overall, consistency was definitely our strong suit, but I couldn't do it without a fast car, hard work, some luck and of course our sponsors and crew - Jacob Goede

Previous winners

2021- Jacob Goede

2020- Tim Brockhouse

2019- Jacob Goede

2018- Baiden Heskett

2017- Conrad Jorgenson

2016- Tim Brockhouse

2015- Jacob Goede

2014- Jacob Goede

2013- Ricky Martin

2012- Jonathan Eilen

2011- Chad Walen

2010- Brent Kane

2009- Adam Royle

2004- Dan Fredrickson