Sunday, July 8, 2018

Hinchcliffe Wins IndyCar Iowa Corn 300

The mayor of Hinchtown takes his second win at Iowa.  James Hinchcliffe made a late race pass of dominant Josef Newgarden to win the IndyCar Iowa Corn 300 at the Iowa Speedway.

Josef Newgarden took the lead early on and dominated most of the race, but it was Hinchcliffe who made a great run in the last 50 laps that really locked up his bid for the win.  With 50 remaining, Hinch moved by second running Pigot and then 5 laps later, he moved by Newgarden to take the lead.  The blistering pace set by Newgarden coupled with only one caution (on lap 139) for Zach Veach put all but five cars on the lead lap headed into the stretch run.  It looked all but certain for Hinchcliffe, but Ed Carpenter spun to bring out the yellow with seven laps remaining.  With too little time remaining, the race ended under yellow giving the win to Hinchcliffe.  Pigot would finish second, Takuma Sato took home third, while Newgarden finished a disappointing fourth.

Results Verizon IndyCar Series Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway

1. James Hinchcliffe
2. Spencer Pigot
3. Takuma Sato
4. Josef Newgarden
5. Robert Wickens
6. Will Power
7. Graham Rahal
8. Simon Pagenaud
9. Alexander Rossi
10. Ed Carpenter
11. Sebastian Bourdais
12. Scott Dixon
13. Ed Jones
14. Charlie Kimball
15. Max Chilton
16. Marco Andretti
17. Tony Kanan
18. Zachary Claman De Melo
19. Ryan Hunter-Reay
20. Zach Veach
21. Gabby Chaves
22. Matheus Leist

Time of Race: 1:47:32.4666 seconds
Average Speed: 149.636
MOV: Under Caution
Lead Changes: 4
Cautions: 2 for 17 laps
Lap Leaders: Josef Newgarden 229, James Hinchcliffe 45, Will Power 23, Takuma Sato 3

Listen to Speed Talk on 1360 radio Saturdays 10-11am on or on the free Tunein app by searching KRWC

No comments:

Post a Comment