Tuesday, June 14, 2016

The NASCAR Double at Iowa Speedway

All NASCAR eyes will be on Iowa Speedway this weekend, no it's not the Sprint Cup Series, but it is the next best thing, an Xfinity and Truck Series Double Header on a weekend where Cup is off.  Here is your Fan Guide.

It all starts with the Camping World Truck Series Spediatrics 200 on Saturday (6/18/16).

* Autograph session is from 2:00-2:45pm under the turn 4 grandstand.
* Truck series Qualifying from 3:45-4:45pm
* Xfinity series Qualifying from 5:45-6:45pm

Truck series driver intro's at 7pm, racing begins at 7:30pm.

* Post-race concert from Buckcherry

This is only the 8th race of the year in the Truck series.  Matt Crafton leads in points by 18 over Timothy Peters and William Byron is third 23 points behind.

Winners so far include:
Matt Crafton-2
William Byron-2 (18 yrs old)
John Hunter Nemechek-1
Johnny Sauter-1
Kyle Busch-1

-Thorsport will enter four trucks even though their shop burned down this week.
Matt Crafton, Rico Abreu, Ben Rhoads and Cameron Haley all are entered.
-Daniel Suarez is scheduled to race the #51, he scored his first ever Xfinity series win at Michigan last week.
-Tickets start at just $20 for adults and $10 for kids

On Sunday its the Xfinity series American Ethanol E15 250 (6/19/2016),

*Spectator gates open at 8:30am
*Kids press conference 9:00-9:15am in Media Center (infield)
*Xfinity series driver autograph session 10:30am on access road. (fan walk pass needed).
*Drivers meeting (open to the public) access road at 11:15am
*Driver intros at 12 noon with racing beginning at 12:30pm
*Tickets start at $20 for adults and $10 for kids

This will be the 14th race of the season, Daniel Suarez just won for the first time last week at Michigan he is the point leader and has an 18 point lead over Elliott Sadler and 36 points over Ty Dillon.

Winners so far in 2016:
Kyle Busch-4
Erik Jones-2
Kyle Larson-1
Austin Dillon-1
Dale Jr-1
Chase Elliott-1
Denny Hamlin-1
Elliott Sadler-1
Daniel Suarez-1

Notable entries:
-Brad Keselowski will race the #22- he has won at Iowa Speedway 3 times in the past.
-Sam Hornish Jr will drive the #18 for Joe Gibbs, he is filling in for Matt Tift who is injured.
-Drew Herring will drive the #24 car.
-Two Decker girls from WI will attempt to make the race, Claire Decker will drive the #77 car and Paige Decker (photo below) will drive the #97.  These cars are owned by Obaika racing, the first African owned race team to compete in NASCAR. 

Jason and Dean will be covering the race LIVE from Iowa Speedway.  Keep checking back for updated stories and interviews or follow us on Twitter and Facebook


Chris Buescher won this Spring race last year after a furious battle with Chase Elliott.  Here is our recap http://racefansradio.blogspot.com/2015/05/buescher-wins-3m-250-at-iowa-speedway.html

No comments:

Post a Comment