Tuesday, September 22, 2015

#Thunderstruck 93 Incredible entry list

By Jason D Searcy

September 23, 2015 - Elko, MN

The seventh annual #Thunderstruck93 presented by NAPA event is bringing out an incredible list of short track racing stars to compete for the coveted guitar trophy in the 125 lap ARCA Midwest Tour race at Elko Speedway (MN) on Saturday September 26th.

Topping the 31 car entry list is Four time winner of this event Danny Fredrickson from Lakeville (MN), he won a track Championship at Elko Speedway in 2003 and has been a Midwest tour Champion twice, in 2008 and 2013.  Fredrickson has more wins than anyone in the history of the Midwest tour (14). 

Keep your eye on two time defending Elko Speedway Champion Jacob Goede from Caver (MN).  He won the inaugural #Thunderstruck93 event in 2009, the same year he was the Midwest tour Rookie of the Year.  This year he dominated the MN Corn Growers Super Late Model racing at Elko Speedway with 10 wins and he set fast time in qualifying every race night the entire year.  Matt Goede also had a great year, finishing second in points behind his brother Jacob, scoring 3 feature wins.

Ty Majeski from Seymore (WI) is one of the most talked about young drivers in the nation.  He is the the defending ARCA Midwest tour Champion and he leads in points again heading into this race, last year he almost won #Thunderstruck93, he finished runner up to Fredrickson by only .326 seconds after a furious battle for the top spot.

Skyler Holzhausen from Bangor (WI) has won at Elko Speedway before, on July 9th 2011 he won a 250 lap Midwest tour race edging Chris Wimmer, he then went on to win the Midwest tour Rookie of the year.  He is currently second in ARCA Midwest tour points.

Andrew Morrissey from Deforest (WI) is entered in this event, he won the Midwest tour Championship in 2011 and he won #Thunderstruck93 in 2013.  He won the Chicagoland Showdown earlier this year.

Three time Slinger (WI) Super Late Model Champion Steve Apel from West Bend (WI) will also be racing at #Thunderstruck93, he is a Kulwicki Driver Development racer and the Red White and Blue series Champion at WIR.  This is his first trip to the Twin Cities to race.

Another hometown hero is former Elko Speedway Thunder Car champion Jonathan Eilen from Hampton (MN) he won the first ever Midwest tour race, it took place at Elko Speedway on April 28th 2007, over 50 cars tried to qualify for the event and Eilen was the unlikely winner.  He has been a regular on the tour ever since, even winning the Championship in 2012.

Nick Murgic from Rosemount (MN) won the biggest race of his career just last month, he took home a $10,000 check by winning the Dixieland 250 at WIR, unfortunately he lost brakes and nearly totaled his car after taking the checkered flag.  The 2008 Midwest tour Rookie of the year now has the car back in shape and looking to contend for the win, he finished third last year.

2013 TUNDRA Super Late Model Champion Nick Panitzke from Sauk Centre (MN) has rebounded from a health scare earlier this year, he scored a feature win at Elko Speedway on May 23rd. 

Natalie Decker from Eagle River (WI) is a member of the NASCAR Dive for Diversity program, she won a track championship in the Limited Late Model division at State Park Speedway in 2013, and she won a TUNDRA Super Late Model race at Golden Sands last year.

#Thunderstruck93 is very pleased to see that a couple veteran super stars are entered in this race including driver Jamie Iverson from Escanaba (MI) he is a many time track champion at Norway (MI) Speedway and has 4 career wins in Midwest tour competition. Also Tim Sauter from Necedah (WI) who is a member of Wisconsin Racing Royalty, he is the brother of Johnny, son of Jim and father to Travis Sauter.  He was the 1999 ASA National Champion and he made over 100 starts in what is now called the NASCAR Xfinity series.

Other drivers who have won at Elko Speedway this year that are entered into this race include:  Billy Mohn from Lakeville (MN), Nick Barstad from Prior Lake (MN) and  Paul Paine from Mound (MN).

A full list of entrys can be found at www.arcamidwesttour.com and you never know what other stars will show up on race day, the weather forcast is perfect!

#Thunderstruck93 will take at Elko Speedway on Saturday September 26th beginning with an on-track driver autograph session at 3pm.  Qualifying and heat races will begin at 4pm.  The ARCA Midwest tour 125 lap finale will take place after a full day of racing including a 68 lap BIG 8 late model feature, also Champions will be crowned in the Genz-Ryan Thunder Car and Pepsi Power Stock divisions, plus racing in the Great North Legends and Hornets as well.  The Pink Flamingo party will take place in Champions event center following the races, no camping is permitted.

#Thunderstruck93 presented by NAPA auto parts is a race day designed to benefit the fight agains A.L.S. better known as Lou Gehrig's disease, it is in memory of long time racer and Elko Speedway Hall of Fame member Dan Ryan who passed away in 2009.  Go to www.araceworthwinning.org

Elko Speedway is located 20 minutes South of the Twin Cities, just off of I-35 and County road 2.  For more information follow Elko Speedway on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, go to www.ElkoSpeedway.com or call (952) 461-7223.

No comments:

Post a Comment