Sunday, October 3, 2010

ASA Midwest Sportsman crowned at Elko

Oct 2 2010

Chris "cruiser" Marek won the first ASA Midwest Sportsman tour championship after finishing third at Elko Speedway on Saturday (Oct  2nd).

Marek was leading the point standings over Jay Kalbus by only 26pts going into the final race of the season.  Kalbus did not enter the race at Elko, "I was let down that Kalbus wasn't here, I wanted to try and beat him the right way" said Marek.

Chris Marek had a fantastic season with 4 wins and 9 "top10" finishes during the ten race schedule even though he had never raced at any of the tracks except Raceway Park and Elko Speedway.  "I was really surprised to do so well, to go in blind and come through that successful was a huge surprise to me" said Marek.

The Thunder car nationals ASA Midwest Sportsman event was won by Brent "freight train" Kane who won the 40 lap race by four car lengths after taking the lead on lap 14.  It was his 19th feature win this season.  "The car was awesome, I know everyone says that in victory lane, but it really was awesome" said Kane.

The entire race evening was a memorial to Elko "hall of fame" member Dan Ryan who recently died of A.L.S.  "It was emotional because of Dan Ryan," said Kane "I had a tear in my eye, and saluted him in corner number two."  Kane won the race, Steve Anderson drove the #15 car to a second place finish, Marek got third and Ted Reuvers finished fourth.

Danny Fredrickson won the post-poned Thunderstruck 93 lap Super Late Model event dedicated to Dan Ryan.  Fredrickson started seventh of the seventeen cars that took the green flag, it only took him twelve laps to move into the lead.  Fredrickson held off Nick Murgic and defending Thunderstruck 93 winner Jacob Goede to win by six car lengths.  Fredrickson told of how much he admired Dan Ryan in an emotional victory lane interview and celebration.   

get more informaton at    

No comments:

Post a Comment