Sunday, January 9, 2011

2010 MN Asphalt driver of the year

Kane named MN Asphalt driver of the year

by Jason D Searcy (

The 2010 Speedtalk Minnesota Asphalt Driver of the Year is Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN).

Brent had a truly remarkable season in 2010 driving a V-8 Sportsman stock car. He had 19 feature wins along with earning the point title at both Raceway Park in Shakopee (MN) and Elko (MN) Speedway and an ASA Midwest Sportsman series race at Elko (photo below).

Brent credits his brother Nate (in photo below) for preparing a winning car. "Over the years I've been so hard on him," said Brent "we've had arguments at the shop trying to make sure everything is perfect, now its all worth it." Nate Kane was recently recognized in Charlotte (NC) as a finalist for the NASCAR mechanic of the year award.

Its not hard to find the Brent "freight train" Kane fans in the crowd (called the Kane-iacs), they are the LOUDEST group in the stands, in both sight and sound. (photo below) "Every time I roll out of turn four, all I see is orange," says Kane "that must screw with the other drivers a little bit."

Kane originally raced with the number 84, but when that number was not available at Elko Speedway he changed to the number 99 because of his admiration for Dick Trickle. "He is the greatest stock car driver ever," said Kane.

Kane has been racing in the Thunder car/Hobby stock division since 1999, but it took until 2010 for him to win his first title. They spent many hard years learning how to win races and eventually a championship. "It takes patience on the track, a lifetime of racing and focusing on the championship every week," said Kane "Its worth all the long nights, we've got it in our blood."

In local racing its common for a driver to win a championship and immediately move up to the next division, but even after 11 years in the Thundercar/Hobby Stock division Brent is still not anxious to jump into a Super Late Model. "Some guys who race Late Model don't seem to have any fun, all they do is spend money," says Kane "the class we are in is a great class, I don't see any reason to move up."

Kane again has high expectations for the upcoming season. "We plan on doing the same exact thing in 2011," said Kane " this is too much fun!"

"Speedtalk on 1360" is a racing news website ( and weekly Minnesota Motorsports radio show on KRWC 1360am in Buffalo (MN).

*Past winners of this award are Adam Royle in 2009 and Dan Fredrickson in 2004.

No comments:

Post a Comment