Tuesday, September 28, 2010

ASA Midwest Sportsman Championship

The ASA Midwest Sportsman series will crown their inagural champion on Saturday night (Oct 2) at Elko Speedway.

Two drivers will battle for the top spot. Chris "cruiser" Marek comes into the race with four wins under his belt and a 26pt lead. Marek also won the first ASA Midwest Sportsman race at Elko on Aug 28th. This was an amazing race that saw four cars crossing the stripe at the same time on the last lap, Marek's margin for victory was .041 seconds.

Here is a link to that race story

Jay Kalbus finished 13th during that first Elko race, he was right in the middle of all the action on that fatefull last lap where Brent Kane was denied a win after leading most of the race.

Kalbus is second in ASA Midwest Sportsman tour point standings, he has two wins this season, including a big victory at "the Dells" on Sep 11th.

Here is a video interview after that race with Kalbus and ASA Midwest tour announcer Matt Panure

The race on Saturday night also includes an awesome Super Late Model event, the Thunderstruck 93 race (guitar trophy pictured above), this is a make up event for a rained out memorial to Dan Ryan earlier this summer.

The festivities begins at 6pm Saturday night at Elko Speedway in Elko MN.


No comments:

Post a Comment